Latin & Standard

The Classics

Five Latin and five Standard dances are at the origins of DanceSport. Each of these dances is performed to the prescribed music and tempi by couples demonstrating not only proper technique but also poise, power, floor craft and other criteria that reflect the quality of their dancing.

Watch the very best athletes perform Latin and Standard dances in the recent WDSF World DanceSport Chamionships!

YTm1AgHN9C8|2015 WDSF World Latin

Latin Dances

The five Latin dances are the Samba, Cha-Cha-Cha, Rumba, Paso Doble and Jive. With their heritage in Latin American (Samba, Cha-Cha-Cha, Rumba), Hispanic (Paso Doble) and American (Jive) cultures, they each have their distinguishing traits but coincide in expressiveness, intensity and energy.



ATgGQ_sigfM|2015 WDSF World Standard

Standard Dances

The five Standard dances are the Waltz, Tango, Viennese Waltz, Slow Foxtrot and Quickstep. Somewhat more formal than their Latin counterparts - and not just in terms of the athletes' attire - they are generally danced in a closed position of the partners. The hold a Standard dance commences with is maintained throughout.