The General Meeting

Democratic and efficient are the two attributes that best describe the style of governance and the organisation of the World DanceSport Federation. Delegates of all National Member Bodies and of the Associate Members form the General Meeting, the supreme governing body. Ordinary General Meetings are constituted once per year, generally during the month of June. They pass their resolutions as stipulated in the Statutes, following an agenda and with minutes kept of the proceedings.

The Presidium

The WDSF General Meeting elects the subordinate 12-member Presidium for a term of four years, empowering it to tend to and govern all affairs of WDSF between one General Meeting and the next. The WDSF Presidium is made up of the

  • President
  • First Vice-President
  • Second Vice-President
  • General Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Sports Director
  • Professional Division Director
  • Ordinary Presidium Members (up to to six)
  • Honorary Life President(s)

The Organisation

WDSF Organisational Structure

On the operational level, the WDSF Managing Committee – made up of the President, the First Vice- President, the Treasurer, the Secretary General and the Sports Director –  tends to the day-to-day running of the federation. The committee is supported in its task by 10 standing commissions, by consultants, and by the administration, i.e. the full-time WDSF Office, the Sports and the Communications Departments. Some of their workload is outsourced to contractors.


The Disciplinary Council

The General Meeting also elects the nine members of the Disciplinary Council, the independent jurisdictional organ of WDSF. The council assumes the role of a "sports court" and renders final and binding judgment whenever it is called upon by the constituents of WDSF.